Daegu’s Dialect (대구의 사투리)

CROXYZ
2 min readMar 21, 2021

Daegu is one of my favourite places in the world — famous for its mountains, cute cafes and kind people. With every visit to Daegu I have picked up parts of the dialect spoken in the city. Although I have only learnt pieces, many friends have requested that I share everything I know about Daegu’s regional dialect (satoori).

Daegu, along with Busan and Ulsan, is part of the Gyeongsang region which can be split into Gyeongnam province (north) and Gyeongbuk province (south). The dialect across the region can differ slightly, bear this in mind when speaking with people from the Gyeongsang region.

Here is a list of Daegu’s satori vocab and expressions I learnt from friends in South Korea:
왔어 > 왓냐 (watnya) = I’m here
뭐해 > 모하노 (mohano) = What are you doing? / What’s up?
뭐야 > 뭐고/먼데 (mwogo/munde) = what (is it?)
밥 먹어 > 밥 뭇나 (bab mutna) = Eating food
뭐 먹었어? > 모 뭇노? (mo mutno) = What did you eat?
(김치) 전 > (김치) 부침개 (buchimgae) = Korean savoury (kimchi) pancake
언니 > 언니야 (unniya) = Unni / older sister/friend of a female speaker
오빠 > 오빠야 (oppaya) = Oppa / older brother/friend of a female speaker
할머니 > 할매 (halmae) = Grandmother
할아버지 > 할배 (halbae) = Grandfather
고맙다 > 고맙디 / 고맙데이 (gomapdi/gomapde) = Thanks!
그렇구나 > 맞나 (majna) = I see / I understand

Practise using Daegu’s satori with any friends you have from the Gyeongsang region if you want to learn more check out the following resources*:

*Please note that I can not guarantee the accuracy of the linked resources, it is best to ask your friends about satori before using it.

Feel free to share other examples of Satori you have learnt below.

--

--